The Heart of the Matter

Originally posted on February 6, 2010:

In my meditation and worship today, I came across a song from one of my favorite gospel artists and worship leaders, Fred Hammond. I’ve listened to it several times but never really heard it. It’s called How Do You Love That Way, and captures the heart of man’s relationship with God that is illustrated in the book of Joel in the OT. Particularly how God’s people behave like the wayward woman and the LORD continually pursues us, cleanses us, restores us, and loves us.

If you get a chance, meditating on the lyrics would be a great prayer and help facilitate worship.

(1 verse)
I must have made you cry a million tears
Used enough mercy for a million years
You’d think by now your grace would disappear
Guess that’s why you call it love
You spread your arms across eternity
You shed your blood to buy my liberty
You fight for me with all intensity, with an undeniable love

(Chorus)
How do you love that way
I need you to teach me to love that way
Why do you love that way
Whatever you do don’t stop

(2 Verse)
Addicted to my selfishness and greed
Thinking my foolishness could meet my needs
Pulled up flowers tryin’ to make room for weeds
but it doesn’t uproot your love (I’m so crazy)
You just correct me try to slow me down
Rain on me softly when my leaves are brown
Resuscitate me when I hit the ground
So tenacious with your love (tell me how)

(Chorus)
How do you love that way
I need you to teach me to love that way
Why do you love that way
Whatever you do don’t stop
How do you love that way
I need you to teach me to love that way
Why do you love that way
Oh please oh please don’t stop

(Bridge)
I wandered and wavered a ship lost at sea
I treated your mercy so frivolously
Yet an ocean of love you poured over me
Your love won’t stop

How do you love me Lord
Will you teach me to love that way
Why do you love, whatever you do don’t stop

(Vamp)
By holding me oh lord you’re showing me
You’re teaching me and Lord I plainly see
Your love indeed, it amazes me
Whatever you do don’t stop
Why you would smile upon this broken man
It blows my mind, I just don’t understand
All the love I need is in your nail-scarred hands
Whatever you do don’t stop
(repeat)

Be blessed fam,

Abdullah

Leave a Reply

