Inauguration Journal, Day One

What follows was originally posted on my Blogger site on Monday, January 19, 2009:

It’s actually my third day in DC and there is an unmistakable sense of excitement in the air. I stood in line @ Senator Harkin’s office for about 2 hours just to get past the building’s security checkpoint. Despite the slight nip in the air, everyone is pleasant and even jubilant. It seems like everyone is holding their heads a little higher and feeling more hopeful. Every black person I made eye contact with gave me the head-nod. As a black man, the best way to describe the feeling is that it feels like tomorrow is my first Independence Day.

Leave a Reply

